tswillow

We have a '75 Fuel Injected Super Beetle that I have started a restore project on. I am a novice at this and have a few questions.

Picture #37 is the engine compartment for reference

Picture #36 shows the upper left corner of the compartment and a small round plug, which I belevie is call  Top Dead Center (TDC). There is a mating plug on the engine that was NOT plugged in when I pulled the engine. Does this feed back to the fuel injection module? If not what is it's purpose.

Picture #35 This shows the lower right corner of the engine compartment and a rectangular plug with 6 leads. This was not pluged in either. Does someone know what this is for?

On another topic., When I look for parts in various catalogs I find a number of exhaust items that are labeled either California or Non California. My quesiton is ... How do I tell if this car is a California car or not?

Click image for larger version - Name: P1010037.JPG, Views: 40, Size: 73.54 KB Click image for larger version - Name: P1010036.JPG, Views: 47, Size: 70.92 KB Click image for larger version - Name: P1010035.JPG, Views: 58, Size: 70.80 KB
Quote 0 0
dizi

for what i can tell you now is that there isnt going to be a plug for (tdc) thats when the piston reaches the end of the cylinder. tdc is what you would use when doin a valve adjustment or timing, but i could be wrong on aircooled since ive only had my 75 sb for 5 months but my engine and tranny came from a 74 sb the was deemed scrap... those other plugs i am not sure of but my best guess is they were for the electrical of the fuel injection. And the california stuff dont worry about it unless you live or somewhere with really strict emission laws and have to have your car tested before licsensing.

you did what???
Quote 0 0
olspeed