I just got a rebuild on my '73 this past week.  This is the first car I have owned, and I bought it with the intention of learning a lot about auto-mechanics, as I have very little experience in the area.  After I got it back, I noticed the odometer was broken, so I took it apart, replaced the broken gear on the odometer shaft, and put it back in.  I was proud of my first mechanical success until I found out it wasn't the end . . .

The only problem is now my turn signals don't work.  While I was waiting for the gear to arrive, I drove my car to the store.  The signals worked at first, but then stopped working by the end of the trip.  I have been staring at the electrical map for about two days now, but I still can't make sense of it, or figure out what's wrong.  Before I took the odometer out, I labeled all the connections to make sure I put the wires back in the same spot.  I checked the fuses, and all the other electronics work (wipers, headlights, hi-beams, 4-ways, etc.).  When I turn on the car and hit the signal, the signal-indicator pulses dimly (opposite of the seat belt warning light).  From what I've deduced, it seems like there's a missing ground somewhere.  Also, when I pull the lever, there's no clicking sound, but I do see the indicator pulsing lightly.

Any experienced insight would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

Sean

Quote 0 0
bluebug

Check the grounds for all four lights. Do all the running lights work. When you have the running lights on and turn on the signal lights does one go out? If you have a light going out when you turn on the signals, it is the ground for that light that may be bad.

Clark

Clark Verbockel
Quote 0 0
I checked.  No lights go out when I turn on the turn signals.
Quote 0 0
flash