Gouie
So here's the situation. My wife for years has been crazed with the beetle. We are now fortunate enough that we can afford one but I need some advice.

We live in central Alberta were temps can dip to -30 celsius for periods during the winter. Will we be o.k. with a super when temps dip this low? This will be her primary transportation so I do want something that will be reliable, both city and highway.

We'll be looking at spending between $5,000 and $6000.00, can I expect one in good condition, i.e. engine rebuild, body work? Where are the areas I should be looking for problems? In spending this much can I expect that the heat trays and pans, rear quarter around intake will be new/rust-free?

Sorry for the boat full of questions here. I am VERY new to the beetle and want to be sure it will be safe to carry the wife around in. I'm not bad around the garage but I'm no mechanic by any stretch of the imagination.

Thanks in advance for the help guys.
Quote 0 0
Cobey
Not sure on the low temps, but generally speaking, you shouldn't have to worry over the engine freezing up like a watercooled as there is no water/antifreeze to freeze up.  Also, you could pick up a block warmer just to be on the safe side.

However, Beetles are not known for having the best heaters/defrosters.  This may be a major consideration, depending on how far it is the Beetle will be driven inthe cold.

The main thing you want to look for really is body rot (rust).  Especially if they use salt on the roads up your way.  I would suggest getting a "clean" car over one that runs the best.  Getting a Beetle to run well is a whole lot cheaper than rust repair generally.  And, you can learn to wrench on a Beetle a whole lot easier than learning to do body work.  Just about everything you could possibly need to keep her running tiptop is available on the web and/or in print.