ICBM
I see a lot of them, but which ones can I trust to be all new for best price and warranty (if any)?
Quote 0 0
Cobey
No GEX.  I haven't heard a word of good about them.  No personal experience, but still...
[url=http://geeks-at-large.com/ghia](0)(=|=)(0)[/url] 68 Ghia Vert - Gina
[url=http://geeks-at-large.com/edel/](O\U|U/O)[/url] 72 SB Vert Autostick - Edel
Quote 0 0
ICBM
Yeah, I've heard bad things, too. Thanks.
Quote 0 0
aircooled299
If you can find a good local builder you'd be better off, especially if there was any warranty work to be done. I don't know of anyone in your area. You might check with any local clubs and see if there's someone around. I have no experience with the off the shelf motors. Like you and Cobey though, I have heard nothing good and plenty of bad about GEX. The story is that they used to build good motors and then their quality went downhill and they rode on their old reputation. Seems like that happens a lot lately. Sorry, I know that wasn't a lot of help.
-Patrick

Quote 0 0
ICBM
I was thinking of doing it locally. There's one VW shop that said he had enough parts laying around to put together an engine. And another place down the street that said they'd do it for $1100 (parts & labor), which seems awfully cheap and worries me. There is a Dub Club around here and I have the # of one of the member's, so I'll ask him. Thanks.
Quote 0 0
NoH2O