bigkuh
Just got myself a 71 Super for 200 bucks and decided to join the group here.

I owned two other beetles back in my high school and college days...a 68 std and a 73 super. So while I'm a newbie to the site I have had a 'bug affair' for many years and really looking forward to getting going on my resto project.

A little bit about the current super and how I got it. Found this sitting behind the fence of a foreclosed home about 2 blocks from my house and by luck some friends knew the owner. The car had sat for 8 years and hadn't been started in six, the last time it was registered was 02. Previous owner said the motor was rebuilt and only had 30k on it (I found reciepts confirming this in the glovebox later), but didn't know if it would run. Originally he wanted 400 for it, I told him if he could get it running I would give him that if not my offer was 200....so 2 weeks later he called and accepted. Towed her home and spent a couple of days cleaning 8 years worth of grime off. Did an oil change and cleaned out the gas tank. Put a couple gallons of gas in and attempted to fire it up...took about 5 minutes but then music to my ears. Its alive!!!! I couldn't believe that after six years it would start right up. So I had to see if it was driveable. Got in and sure enough took a couple of victory laps around the block! The motor ran strong, but needs a good tune up, carb adjust and cleaning which I will be doing here soon. The body is solid with no rust in the heater channels, pan (except for the obligatory battery area) and wheel wells Wiring seems to be in pretty good shape but haven't gotten too far into it yet. The interior is the worst of it and will need to be totally redone. The previous owner ripped off the dash and tor apart the headliner so I figure I will just gut it and start fresh. Sorry for the long post, just really excited to have picked up a project and am ready to get it going!

I will get some photos up here in a few days.
Quote 0 0
olspeed