My wife and I just bought a 74 Super beetle. I've had three other bugs before, but never a SB.  Got a few questions.  I get a loud clunk on the right side front suspension when I go over a bump or loud pothole.  The only other problem is that I have to fight to get this thing in 1st when I'm at a stop.  Any ideas?  Anything ese I should know about these things?  Other than that, it's pretty solid and I got it for a good price.  At least for the D.C. area!

Quote 0 0
tazaRock
Awesome!!! I just got a '74 as well. I can't help you, I'm a novice at this, but it's fun as hell learning. It's fun to drive as well. Got any pics?
Quote 0 0
68autobug

Welcome to SuperBeetles.....

Is the spare tire laying flat or standing upright?

All Supers had the spare laying flat...

The noise may be a suspension rubber worn out ....

Most Supers need all the front suspension rubbers renewed to make them handle like new.... depends how long since yours was done...

Best of Luck

Lee Noonan  -- 68AutoBug -- Australia --

http://community.webshots.com/user/vw68autobug

68AutoBug - helping keep air cooled Volkswagens alive in Australia & around the World -

http://community.webshots.com/user/vw68autobug
-
Quote 0 0
aircooled299
Welcome and congrat's on your first super. I got mine about a year ago. I've had a lot of  VW's but not supers. The front end problem I can't give any definitive knowledge about as I haven't really worked on mine yet. The shifter, though, is a common problem with a couple of relatively inexpensive and simple fixes. You should do a search for shifter problems and there will be a lot of  answers to read. Have fun with your new car.
-Patrick

Quote 0 0
flash

Welcome to "the buggers" piece of Cyper Space! Of the 3 different types of VW's I've had over the years going back to 1965 I'd say my Super is my favorite.

Loren

Loren R. Knapp
In The Hot Sonoran Desert of Arizona - 73 Super Beetle "The Blues."
Quote 0 0