LVOUTLD
   When my wife heard this bug was for sale she went absolutely nuts until I agreed to purchase it. This bug  was one of the first cars she ever drove...it used to belong to her favorite teacher, who sadly passed away a couple of years ago.

The teachers family decided to sell the car about two years after her death, and it hadn't been driven or run for years before that.. so it's basically been sitting and rusting for the better part of ten years.

When we got it, we had the leaking gas tank replaced. New hoses, belts and plugs were put in...It runs, but it's in really rough shape. There's oil all over the engine, smokes a lot and seems to run really hot..this may just be because it's air cooled, but since I'm new to bugs.. I don't know what's normal and what isn't.

Speedometer and headlights stopped working soon after we got it. As near as I could tell, the speedo cable got crimped when the gas tank was replaced. I've tried straightening it out, and now the speedometer does move again...I wouldn't say it's accurate, but it works. The headlights have me stumped...I've already posted a message about that in the SB forum.

Now, of course my wife has this vision of restoring it, but the truth is, I'm no mechanic and between her, the kids, and work, I don't have a lot of time to work on this poor thing, nor do I have $14-20K to have somebody else do everything for me. I'll have to settle for trying to do as much as I can.. a little at a time. I'll post a few pics to show everybody, and see what you guys think of it.

It's in my garage hooked up to a battery charger, there's a slow drain somewhere and I've got to put the charger on every two weeks or so...I've disconnected the (still working) dashboard clock to help with that.
 Well, here's a few pics.. I'll put it up on jack stands and get some pictures of the suspension and floor pans this evening. Honestly I think the rust is going to have to be the priority issue, if it's not already too late.