s0cks

My new project, as many of you know is a '73 super beetle. This car, as far as I know, was in a bad wreck. The entire front end (even the front quarters) need either body work, or replacement. The engine is in good shape, even though it at one time had diesel in it. The engine ran, although didn't idle, very roughly. Then I made a mistake, which I am still trying to sort out, with the plug wires. Other than that, the left side floor pan needs replacing, although the right is in good condition. The car needs a new spare tire, all new bits in the front, although some will be saved with lots of body work, a new running board on the left side, a new front windscreen, a new exhaust, and new suspension. I am a 15 year old student, so this could take a long time, but I hope to get it into daily driver shape by next January, so that I can drive it solo for my first time driving without supervision. Other than that, I am working outside, with minimal tools. This will be a real poor man's bug, but it will have enough love and care to make it nice all the same. The engine, from what I can tell, has an aftermarket cam. The big Engle cams sticker is a dead give away. Also, for some odd reason, it came with two sets of different plates. I will have to get that sorted out before I try to get new plates. The car was purchased for 400, although the dude now says I only owe a total of 300. It is over half paid, and this is the second month I have it. I am a VW n00b, but I am learning as I go, with the help of my sister. Anyways, I will keep stuff updated as I go through this article. The car's name is undecided at this point, but I am deciding between Kylie, Erika, and Sky.

73 Super Beetle
Quote 0 0
Wayne

It sounds like you really have your hands full with that one. Was there anything else around in better shape for only a bit more cash?

PS: Post a picture of it so far.

Quote 0 0
s0cks
I got pics here. I really wanna make this one beast. I am on the east coast, so no.