NCGent
Hi -

I am new to SuperBeetles.com. From my view, an excellent site with a wealth of information.

My interest and passion in Volkswagen took off back in the early-1980s. My first Volkswagen was a 1974 Volkswagen Super Beetle sedan that I purchased in mid-1985 for college commuting for $350 while living in Minnesota. With just over 90,000-miles and some superficial rust, it was in good condition. With the assistance of my neighbor, the exterior was redone in the same finish and looked close to new. It was a great car. Sahara Beige in color. It performed well in those Minnesota winters. Very good heat, too. Regular maintenance was performed by a local mechanic and a nearby Volkswagen dealership - both took great care of the car. In beginning my career in North Carolina, it was my plan to take the Super Beetle with me, but, unfortunately, my dad was none keen about that idea. Its replacement ended up being a 1987 Mercury Lynx and the Super Beetle was sold - clearly a mistake in hindsight. The Lynx ended up being very problematic. If I kept the Super Beetle, I likely would have kept it to this day. As years went by, I still thought about that Super Beetle, wishing I had kept it. Its sale was like losing a good friend.

In the last few months, I began to think, "Why not purchase another stock Super Beetle sedan that is in good condition?". When I began my search, I was a bit surprised by the sale prices, on the low end, almost ten times what I originally paid for my Super Beetle. Clearly, these Beetles and Super Beetles are highly sought after now and, once advertised, are quickly sold. Twice, I have missed a potential purchase, a 1973 and 1974 Super Beetle.